WHAT I’VE LEARNED ALONG THE WAY…

Standard

As many of you know, my debut novel (HEART OF THE DRUID LAIRD) came out through Carina Press this past September. What I’ve learned along the way has been a trip—a mind boggling, emotional roller-coaster of soaring highs followed by stomach-droppping dips. You also know I gave up on trying to find an agent a while ago. I was convinced I didn’t need one. (Snort. Life has a way of convincing you otherwise.) I’ve made a lot of mistakes. Some of them have been painful. I’ve also done some things that have turned out pretty well, but all in all…

The conclusion I came to once I typed THE END on my most recent novel is that I need a guide through this baffling industry maze. I have no idea how to grow my career. I’m a writer. I have no marketing experience, no business or corporate experience for that matter, plus, I’m socially challenged. I spend my days with 6 & 7 year olds. I teach elementary education. The closest we get to ‘social media’ is the bulletin board, and some of our conversations are truly cringe worthy. I find myself saying things like, “keep your finger out of your nose! Go wash your hands. That’s how germs are spread,” and “If you’re going to throw-up, do it in the trash bin, not in my lap!”

I decided to give trying to find an agent one more go. Keep in mind I did try for a number of years. I tried and tried and tried. The decision to put myself out there again was not and easy one to make. Rejection is never fun, and I do have an ego. Anyway, long story short, I am pleased to announce that this time it worked.  I am now represented by Spencerhill Associates, Ltd. – Nalini Akolekar. To find out how it all came about, you can visit:

http://querytracker.net/success/barbara_longley.php

Thanks for stopping by. I’d love to hear from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

