TOP TEN THINGS I LOVE ABOUT BEING A WRITER

Standard

For the past six years, I’ve been writing seriously with the intent of becoming published. Prior to that I wrote solely to satisfy the creative urge within. By 2014, I will have 7 books out: HEART OF THE DRUID LAIRD is available now through Carina Press and wherever e-books are sold. FAR FROM PERFECT, a small-town, contemporary romance involving a veteran with PTSD & a slightly OCD single mother, will be released October 23rd, 2012, (through MONTLAKE ROMANCE) and it’s the first in a three book series involving wounded warriors and their journey toward healing. After that series is complete, I’m heading back into paranormal territory with a three book time travel/historical series, also through MONTLAKE ROMANCE. The first is entitled TRUE TO THE HIGHLANDER and it’s set mostly in 1423 Scotland. It involves a young Native American violinist who is sent back in time (by a Tuatha de Danann Fae in disguise) to save someone’s life, only my heroine doesn’t know whose life. So she has a tendency to throw herself into harm’s way on the off chance she might get back home that way.  Then there’s the hunky Scottish guy who wants to protect her. You get the picture.

Anywho, I thought about my writerly life last night as I got ready for bed, and I came up with a list of things I love, LOVE, LOVE about writing. Here a few of my favorites:

1) I get to make shit up all day long and not get into trouble for it. (This is the best thing about writing as far as I’m concerned.)

2) When I write, I am a goddess. I create worlds and beings who inhabit those worlds. (Go diva! Go diva! Yay me!)

3) I rule the world! (The worlds I create anyway. Reality bites.)

4) I am in complete control of who does what to whom. (Again. In my stories only.) Heh, heh, heh.

5) I can make happily-ever-afters happen no matter what.

6) I can show up for work in my pajamas and slippers and stay that way for most of the day. (Somedays I don’t shower and dress until around 2:00p.m. Don’t tell anybody that.)

7) I make my own hours. Okay. Most days I’m at it by 5:30a.m., but I decide. It’s intrinsically motivated, not externally controlled.

8) While I work, I can let my sweet little dog snuggle up next to me on the couch.

9) I have unlimited access to very good coffee and a refrigerator full of my favorite things.

10) And, for all of the above, I GET PAID!

I want to add another item to the list, but I’m not changing the “Top Ten” title. You get to hang out with other writers, and that’s so cool.

There are a few drawbacks.

1) You must be willing to suffer years and years of rejection and criticism before you’ve honed your craft well enough to find an editor willing to give you a shot. And even after years and years of rejection and criticism, the rejections and criticisms don’t stop.

2) You can go days without talking to an actual person who doesn’t just live in your head. (This can cause great disorientation and confusion, garnering many odd looks while you’re out in public.)

3) I don’t know about other writers, but I do occasionally become out of touch with what’s going on in the “real” world. I can tell you down to the most excruciating detail what’s going on in my made up world, but…current headlines for today? Not so much.

4)  While immersed in writing, I have no clue what the date or time of day might be without consulting my laptop or Blackberry.

5) You might find that you have a very rich fantasy life, and no real social life. (Shrugs.)

6) You (meaning me) suffer bouts of self-doubt and insecurity on a frequent basis.

I’m interested in hearing from other writerly types. What do the rest of you find at the top of your “I love writing because…” list?

10 responses »

  1. I think you nailed a great list, Barb. It’s all so true. Even the disadvantanges list. Sometimes I don’t think it’s a bad thing to be out of touch on the real world. The news can be so disheartening and as a romance writer, I want to see more happy endings. Great blog!

  2. I love having written. I love it when the book is finished and I get it back from the publisher. Wow. Did I write this? This is actually good! And it’s going out into the world to take on a life of its own.

    It’s so cool to have the rights back to 7 of my books and to be able to place them with a new publisher. New editor, new cover, new formats–new life! New reasons to love having written.

    • Oh, so true, Nicole. And don’t forget traveling for research, or attending really fun conventions with other writers! Thanks for the reminder.

    • Kathleen, I’ll get to hold the upcoming Montlake releases in my hot little hands, but not my debut novel, which makes me kinda sad.

  3. I’m so with you. I just love being in control of my own worlds. Perhaps that’s because the one we live in isn’t always very nice. There again, perhaps I’m just anti-social!

    • I don’t think we’re “anti-social” as much as we’re hyper sensitive people in general. I think it’s a writer trait. Being slightly disconnected and a little socially awkward is my M.O. Maybe I write to compensate.

Leave a Reply

