WRITERLY TYPES: CAN YOU RELATE?

Standard

I was out to dinner with my critique partner this past Wednesday—during happy hour at the Olive Garden. I tell you this because I believe wine *may* have had something to do with the conversation. Especially because it was red wine, which in my opinion, is the next best thing to chocolate.

CP and I began discussing characteristics we have in common, and we noted that a lot of writerly types share these characteristics. I’m curious to know if there are others out there who agree, or if you disagree. You readerly types all know writerly types, so weigh in. Here they are, characteristics of writerly types:

1) Socially awkward and a bit socially inept.

I don’t want to offend anyone. I’m speaking for myself, and I’m putting it mildly. However, my CP says she feels the same.

2) Never quite feel like we “fit in.” (Kind of goes along with #1, yes?)

I moved around a lot as a kid, and I attended three different high schools in four years. By the time I got to the third, I’d given up trying to find a “place” to belong. I believed my experience was unique, but my CP confessed that she often felt “invisible” during high school, no matter how many teams or clubs she joined. She was born and grew up in one place, so that blows my theory out of the water.

3) Observers.

Oh, yeah. We’re the ones who watch all of you “normal” people. As the fascinating dramas of life unfold around us, we’re turning them into stories in our heads, developing the characters and controlling the outcome.  We change the names to protect the unsuspecting. (heh, heh, heh)

4) Acutely sensitive and intuitive

Couple this sensitivity with the social awkwardness…Gah. It sucks.

5) Emotional

6) Overly active imagination

Yeah, I have a very rich fantasy life.

7) Compassionate (romance writers, anyway)

This explains the drive for happily-ever-after.

What followed our conversation was this: I figured out why I write. I can’t control the things in life that affect me deeply, but I can control the worlds I create, so I write. I can’t stop bad things from happening to good people, but I can have it all turn out wonderfully in my fictional universe. So I write. Why do you write? Why do you read? Let me know.

This is unrelated to the topic, but I wanted to share what awaited me upon my return home from work on Tuesday. My book FAR FROM PERFECT was released through Montlake Romance on the 23rd, and they sent my author copies, plus a lovely bouquet.

Cool, huh?    

One response »

  1. Hi, Barb! I like the look of your site, and yes, I share a lot of those writerly traits you noted. At least the feeling of being socially awkward, invisible in high school, being emotionally sensitive with a highly active imagination. I do know a few writers who seem to be socially adept, life-of-the-party types, but I think they are the exceptions.

    ~ Laramie Sasseville
    writing as Naomi Stone,
    ‘Sweet Mercy’ a superhero romance
    Champagne Books

Leave a Reply

