TIME FOR MORE INDIANA PICTURES!

Standard

Okay, so yesterday I wrote about my visit to Haubstadt, Indiana, my “home by choice.” I promised more pictures so here are a few of my favorites:

Haubstadt Town Hall circa 1928, y'all

Haubstadt Town Hall circa 1904, y’all

Bonnie Schmitt-Wagner

Bonnie Schmitt-Wagner

This is Haubstadt’s Town Hall, where Bonnie Schmitt-Wagner works her magic. She’s a dynamo, folks. You need something organized? Call Bonnie. Next is the view from Town Hall that resonates the most with me. I remember the silos and the rail road tracks in Haubstadt much more than the buildings on Main Street. Hmmm. Funny what sticks and what doesn’t.

THIS is how I remember Haubstadt, IN. It's a lovely little town, but all I could remember were the RR  and the silos!

THIS is how I remember Haubstadt, IN. It’s a lovely little town, but all I could remember were the RR and the silos!

I mentioned my friend Jalane Weber, but the picture I included was too dark, and she kindly sent me a better picture to share:

Jalane and I at the Hornville Tavern

Jalane and I at the Hornville Tavern

After we shared a meal, she took me to her family’s farm and we met with her sisters. Then we headed to Evansville, where I went to high school. Here’s a picture of F.J. Reitz.

F.J. Reitz High School, where I attended for 3 years, before the city redistricted, and before we moved. Again.

F.J. Reitz High School, where I attended for 3 years, before the city redistricted, and before we moved. Again.

110 ten students total when I went here, but man we had the best school lunches ever!

110 ten students total when I went here, but man we had the best school lunches ever!

I’m including a picture of Armstrong Elementary, which is now a community center. My younger brothers and sister attended there until we left Indiana, but I only went for 8th grade. We had two grades per room, and our principal, Nobel pate, was also our 7th/8th grade teacher. My graduating class had a grand total of 7 students. Incidentally, riding the school bus for HOURS is where I met the greatest people and formed the best friendships. We only lived about a mile from our school, but the bus traveled all over the countryside to pick up students who attended Reitz and Mater Dei.

This is where we boarded our horses. We often rode them to meet friends at a drive through restaurant up the highway.

This is where we boarded our horses. We often rode them to meet friends at a drive through restaurant up the highway.

My older sister and I had horses, Lady and Bucky. We leased a pasture, which is now someone’s yard, but we kept them at the Baehl’s farm right across highway.

Well, that’s enough for one day. I gotta go walk the dog. Really. That’s not code for anything… :9~

Leave a Reply

